The Innocent

Taylor Stevens

The Innocent is the second novel in the series about my favorite action hero Vanessa Michael Munroe. Munroe is contacted by Logan, an old friend of hers. A  girl named Hannah has been kidnapped into a cult known as The Chosen. After looking for Hannah for eight years, Logan knows that the now thirteen year old  is living in one of The Chosen’s  “havens” in Buenos Aires.

Logan and a small group of former cult members wish to hire Munroe to abduct Hannah out of the haven, and return her to her mother. Only because of her long-standing friendship with Logan does Munroe agree. The assignment will be dangerous for Munroe, but more so for any one who stands in the way of her mission.

Author Taylor Stevens was raised in a cult and she understands the indoctrination process and how a child with limited experience can be taught to fear the outside world. Stevens herself broke of the Children of God in her twenties, and she has special insight into Logan and his friends and how they deal with the world.

This book is fast-paced and exciting. It is very violent and there are strong allusions to sexual abuse of children. But it is all necessary to explain why Logan and Munroe are desperate to rescue Hannah.

Apparently, Stevens has finished the third book in the Vanessa Michael Munroe series and I look forward to reading that.


Published in hardcover-Crown-2011
Softcover edition-to be published-Broadway Books-June 2012

The Innocent: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: